1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

help with adding thermodisc to blower

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by devinsdad, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. devinsdad

    devinsdad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    northern NY
    I would like to add a thermodisc to my blower but the one available is for an Avalon.Would like to know how or can I make this work before I buy it?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Loc:
    WA state
  3. devinsdad

    devinsdad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    northern NY
    Thanks for the info.Any idea what to do if my blower doesn't have the quick connect wires?
  4. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Loc:
    WA state
    I haven't had a chance to look at how my blower is wired up but my hunch is the thermodisc simply acts as a thermal relay to turn on/off blower via other electronics within the variable speed control unit. The power to drive motor does not pass through the quick connect wires/thermodisc since gauge of wire is far different between the two.

    Can you provide any info about the blower you do have? Does it have a part number? Is it variable speed?
  5. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,116
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Most often on woodstoves the thermodisc is rated to switch the amperage of the blower and is direct wired in series with the low-amperage blower. If you are not electrically inclined, maybe keep it simple using a Stove-Stat?

    http://www.northlineexpress.com/itemdesc.asp?ic=5SA-9600
  6. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Loc:
    WA state
    I wasn't sure on mine... that is probably how mine is as well.

    Good recommendation... that unit should easily do the job.
  7. devinsdad

    devinsdad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    northern NY
    That stove stat looks like its around my electrician abilities :) Thanks for the info

Share This Page