Help with Avalon Pendleton (newbie)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ewlsey

Dec 5, 2014
Peoria, IL
Hello everyone.

I'm not new to wood burning, but I am new to EPA wood stoves.

I have an Avalon Pendleton fireplace insert installed in my masonry fireplace. This is a pretty small insert (1.3 cu-ft firebox). It has a secondary burn tube and firebrick baffle. The bricks are all good and the door gaskets are good. I don't think it was used very much. It seems to be in great shape overall.

Here are the issues I know:

1) No chimney liner. This insert has a "direct" connection to the chimney. It uses a 6" flex liner about 6 feet long to get past the old smoke chamber. There is a block off panel at the top of the old fireplace that seals up around the liner. According to the manual, this is OK, but I know it's not the right way to do it.

2) My wood is not great. We bought the house in June, so I have only had 6 months or so to get my wood together. I have 5-6 cords split and stacked that will be great next year, but this year is not going to be very good. I have some Ash that measures around 16% with my moisture meter. It burns pretty well. I also have some Hackberry, which is usually a pretty dry wood. Most of that measures 20-25%. I try to mix it in with the ash.

Now, these are the issues I have with the stove: