Help with BioBricks

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tredvr6

Oct 16, 2008
Southern NH
This is my first year heating with wood, although the house I grew up in was primarily heated with a woodstove. I purchased my house in June so this is my first winter here. I replaced the small stove that came with the house with a Morso 3610. I have purchased (1) pallet of Bioflamme Nightlogs and (1) pallet of Bioflamme BioBricks. I'm still learning how to burn this product, so I'm hoping someone can help me out. Here is a picture I took this afternoon. There are (4) bricks placed next to each other and one placed on top. Everything I've read says to close the damper way down after the bricks start burning, however, when I do that the flame disappears completely and I start to get soot building up on the glass doors. This picture is with the damper closed about half way.

DSC_6986.JPG

Should I close the damper more? Do I need to add more bricks since my stove is relatively large? Appreciate any help that anyone can offer!

I am also new to using BioBricks and I'm still experimenting. But for what it's worth, I have found that dampering down is a bit tricky when only burning 3 or 4 bricks. I think it's because there is a lot of stove mass there and you need more heat to really get the secondary tubes hot enough. So I'd try two things.