Help With Fireplace Selection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Haystack

Mar 25, 2013
WI
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie here. I have a 4,000 SQ foot Victorian Farmhouse in WI. A 2,200 Sq. Ft. addition was built in 2005, and the remaining 1,800 SQ foot was built in 1879. The new side has Anderson Windows and decent insulation. The old side has blown in insulation and windows from the 1960's that i hope to replace soon.

The house came with a Majestic Sovereign located on the outside wall on the far end of the house. It's okay. I can get it to heat up a couple rooms pretty good in the winter, but it gobbles up wood and the look doesn't match the rest of the house. It only has the screen and I'm not a huge fan of running it unattended. I also have some hairline cracks in the refractory brick on the back side so i think it's time to replace it. I'd like to find something that can really help with the heat bills. I keep the place pretty cool and my visitors are always complaining.

I want to stick with an in wall unit. I really liked the look of the Vermont Castings Montpellier. I called the local distributor and they said i would need a Masonry fireplace or i would have to build a new firebox to install it. I then was looking at the FPX 36 and 44, that lasted a little while until I priced one up. I'd like to keep the price below $3,000. I can buy a lot of propane for 7-8k.