Help with Harman PF100

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pecoragrande

Nov 22, 2008
Southern Adirondacks
As most, I am new to this. I am having issues with the furnace. Using Lignetics premium pellets, all settings are as the owners manual recommends. My current issues are carbon buildup after one day, when the unit is firing back up I am getting a "popping"? sound. It seems as though it is gasping for air, the lower door flap and air intake flap are clanging and the fire goes up and down. I tried to turn the feed rate down from 4 to about 3 but it just kept feeding pellets to the top of the burn pot. The unit is in my basement and doesn't have an outside air kit. My house is about 2500 sq.ft., 2 stories and when the furnace is running it heats the house so much better than my Propane furnace. I was told that I should only have to clean out the burn pot one a week or so but I've had to do it every day. I've only run the furnace a total of 5-6 days. Help...

What does your venting consist of?

Eric

There is about a 2 1/2' pipe straight up into a 45, then about 16-18' straight out the back wall of the house into a tee and then up about 5' which then points down at a 45 with a guard on it.

pecoragrande said:
There is about a 2 1/2' pipe straight up into a 45, then about 16-18' straight out the back wall of the house into a tee and then up about 5' which then points down at a 45 with a guard on it.