Help: wood stove sizing (Kuma, Jotul, Morso)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JohnDeer

Dec 17, 2016
Pacific NW
I'm a wood stove newbie who found reading this site very helpful. Next week I'd like to add a wood stove to my existing home and have a number of questions for this board. Perhaps there are a few experienced good Samaritans that could help me avoid making mistakes. I need help sizing the wood stove insert for my application, and would appreciate thoughts on models.

Let me set out my situation first. Hopefully thoroughness is a blessing

Built in 1995. 2500 ft2
Wood stove insert into an existing masonry fireplace.
Masonry exterior chimney, clay tile lined, located on the windward side of the house. Has outside air vent into family room where wood stove to be located.
Raised hearth, 18" wide
Fireplace opening at front: 36" wide. 24" tall.
2 story home, general living on main floor plus upstairs bedrooms. Fireplace location is main floor family room. 1200 ft2 on main floor. 1300 ft2 on upper floor. Nine foot ceilings downstairs, vaulted ceilings 9'-12' upstairs. Stove heat will tend to travel out of the living room and progress directly to the substantial vaulted staircase upstairs. Upstairs landing has high ceilings (bad) but all bedroom doors open directly off the landing (good). No long hallways.
Located in rainy western Oregon. Country home.
Average winter temp is 40 degrees. Average coldest winter temp for a week at a time is about 10 degrees. Two weeks of winter snow in a bad year. Some years no snow. Roughly three months of potentially 30-degree weather.
Wood: dry maple and alder.