Hi all! New user here.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott2373

Nov 9, 2011
Williamson, New York
Hello everybody! This is a fantastic forum you've got here! I've been viewing this forum several months now while in the process of selecting a new wood stove. We decided on the Jotul F 50 TL Rangeley. I am brand new to wood burning in a stove, so I've got a lot to learn from this forum. My wife and I purchased a new house here in Upstate NY. It's always been a dream of ours to own a home in the country with a wood burning stove, so now it's become a reality! I look forward to sharing and learning with everyone on this forum! Here are a couple pics of my setup.

Attachments

• Stove.jpg
    Stove.jpg
    26.3 KB · Views: 524
  • Chimney.jpg
    Chimney.jpg
    15.2 KB · Views: 591
How well has the stove been drafting for you?

Welcome Scott, that should keep you warm. Have to ask about that horizontal run. Looks like single-wall, is it? If so that long horiz. is going to get very hot. How close to the ceiling is it?

So far it seems to be drafting so-so, although the temps here have been rather high, so hopefully it will do better when it gets colder outside and there is a greater temp differential between in and out. The hottest fire we've managed so far is about 400 deg, but then again, the wood we're using is slab and not quite as dry as it could be. Right now the wind is blowing pretty good outside and I can here it in the stove, so I'm guessing the draft is good enough. I'd love to measure it, but I'm not spending over $100 on a draft gauge.