Hi guys....new to pellet heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bad0351

Jun 17, 2011
SW New Hampshire
Just dropped in to say "hi".....I am new to this pellet thing, in fact just purchased a stove after doing some research and hope to stay a little warmer this winter!
What finaly pushed me over the edge was another oil delivery the other day...to the tune of 500.00 bucks!
I explained to my wife we spent 4000.00 dollars last winter to heat and at the end all I had was an empty oil barrel....at least now I spend the money up front and at the end of winter I still have my stove....
well, hope to learn a lot from you all and am looking forward to talking with you.

Dale

Welcome to the club!

After the initial investment of the stove is paid for, you'll likely see a bill of about 1000 a year for pellet fuel (~4 tons or so, give or take price and how hot you want it, vs house size, etc). If you're spending 4k last year, that will likely be 5k this year with the price rise, which means you'll break even within a year or so :)

It's hard to beat it.

Welcome to the Forum. This a Great place full of Great people and Great info..I too was at $4,000 avg a year for LP (Propane) also. I now spend about $1,000 like briansol stated. I just got a wood stove so I hope to lower that number even further this coming winter.

What type of stove did you get. There is a Feature called "Your Control Panel" at the top of the screen. You can put your stove make and model and what type of pellets you have, vent type, any certain quotes you like, etc.