Hi Newbie here with Questions?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

willc

Dec 7, 2012
Hi My name is Will and this is not my first wood stove. I have a small house 917sf with the stove in the middle on a huge hearth made of granite and rock and stone. I have two 90 degree turns in my six inch single wall flue that is in a precast liner.
My question is I now have a blazeking KTJ 303 from the late 70's . I think it is over sized for the house. If it get to operating temp ( I have not put a thermometer on it yet) with the thermostat on one it heats up to about 86 in the house ( two digital Tstat readings for the back up heat ). I am looking at replacing it if it is too large.
I am looking at a jotul cb3 to replace it with to slow the wood consumption as it take a lot of wood to get the Blaze king up and running.

So what am I to do here? Do I need more pratice with the blazeking or is it too large? I am burning oak if that helps . Or should I get the Jotul or any other smaller stove .
Thanks in advance

Will Kitchen.jpg