homemade logsplitter ideas wanted

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brooktrout

Dec 23, 2007
Hamden, NY
I have seen in many signatures "homemade logsplitter". Can anyone give me some ideas, links, advice on how to "make" a homemade logsplitter? I do autobody for a living, and have welders, torches, lots of scrap, etc. Thanks!

The first thing you will have to decide is how much money you want to spend.

Then pick a design for the splitter.

Make a list of all the parts you will need. Price out all the items you can't get for free and then decide if a homemade splitter is still in the budget.

A store bought $1000.00 splitter will cost about $1500.00 to duplicate at home, with new materials.

If you enjoy building machines, built it. I burn very little wood but in the last 6 years I have built 4 splitters mostly for the challenge.

brooktrout said:
I have seen in many signatures "homemade logsplitter". Can anyone give me some ideas, links, advice on how to "make" a homemade logsplitter? I do autobody for a living, and have welders, torches, lots of scrap, etc. Thanks!

Try this web site.http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/?s Just look under log splitters. There is a ton of info. The fun part of making you own is scrounging all the metal and wheels. Even motors can be found. The above site will point you to many other web sites to buy the cylinder, pump and controls. Best of luck and show us some pics. when your done.