Honey Locust

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fireview2788

Minister of Fire
Apr 20, 2011
SW Ohio
I was talking with a friend last night and he said that Honey Locust stinks when you burn it. I've never burned it so I have no idea, what says the experts?

fv

I'm no expert but it don't stink, probably be the hottest burning wood you ever put in your stove. :zip:

It dont stink.Havent burned any for 2-3 yrs now (last time I cut some) but never had any problems with it.Other than its granite-like hardness & sometimes gnarly/twisted/spiral grain. :coolgrin: Well worth it though,one of the best woods you can get,equal to any Hickory,not far behind Black Locust & Osage Orange/Hedge.Makes beautiful cabinets,other smaller furniture & turned bowls when found in large enough sizes too.

fireview2788 said:
I was talking with a friend last night and he said that Honey Locust stinks when you burn it. I've never burned it so I have no idea, what says the experts?

fv

It stinks when sawed and split too

Stink is also a matter of opinion. Lots of folks on this forum hate the smell of freshly cut and split oak while I happen to enjoy it. Sassafras to me is the absolute best. There are only a few that I do not like the smell of.

Are you sure he wasn't talking about Black Locust? BL tends to have a reputation as being stinky when burned. And many people often confused Black Locust with Honey Locust.

He said Honey Locust because we were talking about a stack of free wood he was going to grab.

fv