Hot-air wood-furnace with own attached room, wood storage, hot water tank

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jdemaris

Oct 11, 2008
Central New York State
Somebody asked about building a room around a central-heating wood- furnace to help dry wood - in another forum. I did it a few years ago and it works great. Here is some info. I added fireproof ceilings and siding to the outside since the photos were taken - although both aren't needed for safey - more for cosmetics and insurance purposed.

I've been heating 100% with firewood for over 30 years and have tried different systems. Two years ago I built this new, well-insulated room attached to my house and gargage/barn with a hot-air wood-furnace in the middle of it. The room holds 4-5 full cords of wood, all stacked around the furnace. If anything, it works better then planned. Attached barn holds another 6-7 full cords. Also have an 80 gallon water-storage preheat tank hooked to coils in the furnace. Circulates by thermosiphon and makes more hot water than we ever use - with no electricity or pumps involved. Pretank feeds into an LP heater that only comes on in the non-heating season.