How best to optimize my XXV pellet stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tundraSQ

Oct 7, 2006
I am a complete noob at this thing, and I am looking for how you guys set the stove up to heat your house, especially nights when you are sleeping and days you are not home. I am this weekend trying out stove mode and room mode. I think I like th eidea of using stove mode when away and turn the temp down a bit so most of the day it kind of hibernates. Then maybe come home and crank the sucker up using stove mode and then before bed set it back to room mode. I did notice once yesterday when it was in room mode that the stove fire went just about completely out and i had lots of smoke comeing out the exaust vent outside and some smoke smell in the house. I am playing around with room mode today to see if it repeats that but so far it has not.

on mine (advance)
Feed at 3
temp at 75
room temp set at med

I've only set it to stove temp when all the relatives are over at the holidays and it gets really hot.. this way you can see the fire without the heat being blown into the room.
The stove temp mode only regulates the temp of the stove (exhaust) so your room may get warmer or colder while you are not there.
This time of year when the sun starts shinning in my windows the room gets pretty warm and the stove will shut off which is a nice feature.

as far as the smoke smell you may smell it coming in through a nearby window that is drafty or a small leak in the pipe, the draft is lower when you don't have a fire going. How is your exhaust setup and do you use outside air?