How big a chunk do you dare?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

KateC

Oct 7, 2006
Arizona
www.flickr.com
For the size of your firebox---what's the biggest piece you can throw in and get to burn successfully?? Being a newbie I often look at ''chunks'' and think 'no way'-----so I'm wondering how big you all get away with.

If it is seasoned, fits through the door and the door can be latched, it goes in!

Ditto. That about covers it. Of course you want to have some coals or something established so it burns and isn't just "cold chunk storage".

I have a top loader, if I can stuff it through the opening I burn it.

bugette said:
Nope----by 'you' I meant 'you'----not 'I'----and I was just asking out of curiousity----I'm not gonna do something I'm not comfortable with because 'you' say it's okay. But thanks for the patronization.
:lol:

Normally I burn 3 to 6" splits in your case unfortunately you are going to have to 1/2 what was delivered.

Some here have refinded the burning practice to incorperating mother logs or splits

Mother logs or splits are bigger and will burn longer and will help achieve overnight burns
To me the prefect Mother pieces, are actually rounds from 4 to 7" cut from standing dead oak trees

Kate you are forced now to a different burning sequence using smaller rounds they will also ry out quicker in the fire and will burn
tou might want to monitor your chimney to see what going on atleat once a month maybe once every two weeks

Roo is right wood does dry in winter so there is hope stacked split elevated of the ground and top weather covered