How big a tree can you cut with an 18" saw?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tonelover

Sep 15, 2009
Southern NH
I'm a relative newbie to felling but last summer I got lots of practice in, safely out away from any structures etc, etc. I'm starting to eye ball some bigger trees as my confidence is increasing but am not sure if there is a "rule" about how large a tree one tackles with a particular length saw blade. I have an 18" saw and am cutting mostly pines with the occasional oak and beech. But one of the pines I'm looking at seems to be about 24" in diameter and obviously the saw isn't long enough to go through end to end. I've read about plunge cuts and other methods, but if you are just doing a notch and back cut, where would you draw the line about the size of a tree you can safely tackle with an 18"? And what would be the best cutting strategy to tackle that with? Come in from the sides slightly? The tree does have a favorable lean in the safe direction. Thanks!

36" tree is not terrible with an 18" bar, 24" should be a reasonable drop. If you you have clear access from both sides, cut your notch/wedge from both sides, just be careful to line the bar up correctly from side to side. Same thing on the back cut, or cut in the sides a few inches @ 90 degrees to the notch, then a back cut. I would leave a little more hinge & wedge it over from there. Remember, if it doesn't fall you can always cut a bit more of the hinge, but you can never go back. A C

Thank you very much.