How can I get my stove top temperature up higher without overfiring the flue pipe?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jackerama

Feb 1, 2023
Ohio
Hi, I'm new to wood burning and am trying to dial in my new stove. I have a Jotul F600. We are experiencing a cold snap right now and the stove is struggling to keep the house warm. I can't seem to get the stove top to go above 500F without the flue temp getting too hot. The stove is installed in the rear vent configuration and I am measuring surface temp of the horizontal pipe coming out of the stove with an IR gun. When I am trying to increase the stove top temperature it doesn't take long for the stove pipe to hit 500+. FYI I am measuring the top corner of the stove top as recommended in the Jotul manual. Thank you very much.

First thing is how’s your wood? Is is seasoned to 20% or below? Do you have a moisture meter? If so take a split that has been indoors for a day or two and resplit it and put the probes parallel to the grain middle of the split.

I’m not familiar with your stove but as I gradually lower the primary air my STT increases.