how come! wood burn stoves or pellets dont have hydronic heat exchange! it cant be my idea

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tl589

Aug 19, 2006
:question:
I'm very new to this type of heating, and looking to purchase a stove before the winter because oil sucks... On the units i have seen they all have heat shields, how come none has a heat exchange to tie into Baseboard hydronic system..(note most home's already have circulator on the loop which could be on for re-capture heat to maim boiler.) any info on the performance hearthstone products how are they.
ibew electric

i will take a total guess, maybe because lower firebox temps caused by cold water running through them, would not make them burn efficient enough to pass epa restrictions?

MountainStoveGuy said:
i will take a total guess, maybe because lower firebox temps caused by cold water running through them, would not make them burn efficient enough to pass epa restrictions?
That was my thought .Also the outside wood burner have water jackets and dont have to worry about EPA .............. as of YET . Smoke boxes . I'm sure EPA have everything to do with it .

I did a post about six months ago on an indoor (living space, actually) boiler with a glass front that would allow you to do what you suggest. It doesn't have much water capacity, but it supposedly can produce 100,000 bts per hour, if memory serves. Imported from Europe.

I'll try to dig up the thread and post a link.