How do I build a cultured stone wall as a fireback for my stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

michaelthomas

Feb 10, 2006
Hello,
I have NO masonry skills or knowledge and am looking to have a hearth and fireback wall built for my new install. I have 2 quotes from masons and the materials cost about $800 and the labor has been from $2000-$3000. One guy told me that he would be in my house working for 96 hours! I just can't believe that this project could take that long? It will be a 54x54 hearth and a 54 " fireback that will be going to the peak at 116" and going down to 91 inches along the 5/12 pitch ceiling. I am definately a guy who has more time than money and want this install to be done right, last a long time, and look right. Is this a DIY project for someone with my skillset. I am pretty handy or at least willing to try and learn how to do projects. Recommend any good books on the subject?

I built this with a limeted amount of previous experiance. its not as tall as yours only about 8' up from the floor but about the same Sq feet as yours. it took me and a helper about 3 full days so 96 hours sounds a bit fat to me. The other thing is if you dont have the tools you need to do that will add to the cost.

Attachments

• IMG_0291_1_2.JPG
    IMG_0291_1_2.JPG
    37.5 KB · Views: 1,649
I'm looking to take on a similar project this summer. I can only say that the cost and time will probably vary some with the type of stone and details of the set-up you have.