1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

How do I check the ignitor on a Fahrenheit Pellet Furnance

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Earl Beach, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    My furnance had some issues last week. Changed some gaskets and now it wont fire up.
    Seem the ignitor is not working. Any way I can test it to verify its that and not something else?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,927
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Do a resistance check (power off and disconnected), or measure for voltage on the leads at startup. Resistance should be between 30Ω and 50Ω, give or take.

    I'd try jumping the vacuum switch first. It's quick and easy to do, and you may have created a vacuum leak during cleaning.
  3. 343amc

    343amc Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    The wires for the sail switch are close to where you were working when you fixed the manifold leaks. Are those wires attached firmly? If the sail switch doesn't close, or there is an open in that circuit, the controller thinks there is no air being pulled through the stove so the ignitor won't activate. I suppose it could be the vac switch also but that's on the other side from where you'd have been working.

    Does it run through the self clean when you power it up?

    Someone who has an auto ignition model (DexterDay) may correct me if I am wrong. My Fahrenheit is manual ignition only. The match and gel haven't let me down yet.
  4. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    When I start it, it does not go through the auto clean mode. But all the wires are tight, and connected.
  5. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    I dont know how to jump the vacuum switcch.
    Can I manually lite the furnace as well. I hate having the stupid propand running. All I hear is a big sucking sounds of money
  6. 343amc

    343amc Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    Page 18 of the manual explains the manual ignition process. Page 16 has a flow chart that outlines the startup program.

    Since the self clean doesn't run, it might be worth looking at the vacuum switch and vacuum line. I know that if my door is open or ash pan isn't latched down I'll get the flashing error light that tells me no vacuum present. But, I have the low tech caveman style control board, not the fancy LCD display.

    Not sure if you have the manual or not, but the download link is below.

    http://www.fahrenheittech.com/Fahrenheit_Manual.pdf
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    There is no vac switch on my furnace. Only a Sail Switch. When it opens, the furnace recognizes that there is vacuum. (One part eliminated).

    To test the sail switch, take a screwdriver or some other long straight tool and push it into the back of the intake. You will open the contacts from the sail and then try the furnace? The Sail may have rusted shut in the day or two it took you to work on it?

    Also, the manual goes into great detail on manual ignition, as AMC said above.

    But, if it doesn't auto clean? I would be worried??

    Can you manually move the actuators in the control screen
  8. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Yeah if it wont auto clean that concern me a bit exspecially based on buring 3000 pounds of pellets a month.
    So the sail switch is on the air intake on the back of the machine?
    I will try to move the actuators shorlty and advise
  9. 343amc

    343amc Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    Heres what happens when the manual ignition guy tries to solve an auto ignition problem having never seen the guts of an auto ignition unit. Sorry for adding to the confusion factor.

    Mine has a vacuum switch but not a sail switch. Only one of the dozen or so differences between the units.
  10. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Yeah I can manually move the actuators without an issue
  11. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    @DexterDay, thanks so much for the help. The Sail switch was stuck closed. I tapped on it a few times with a screw driver and it opened. Then the furnace fired right up.
    I am a happy man now, No more propane
    Thanks so much I do appreciate it
  12. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Yeah. No prob. I wish I thought of this earlier. I bought my furnace a yr before I installed it (put in beginning of Last season). And my Sail switch was slightly rusted.

    Glad I could help.

    No worries. Still the same thing (vac switch or sail switch).
  13. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Ok, so the furnance was running well until I turned up the auger speed. The pot filled up so I dumped it.
    Went to restart it and it goes through the cleaning mode and the LEDs flash like it lighted by it doesn't .
    I did not te lid switch is completely stuck in but not sure that would make a difference unless it shorter for some reason in the
    Last several hours.
    Thoughts?
  14. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Hopper switch will keep it from running?

    Make sure lid is closed?

    Sounds like you may have a vacuum/airflow issue?

    When you installed the manifold? Did you install a new gasket? Did you remove that thin metal plate (restricts air) that sits between the combustion blower and the manifold??

    The pot shouldn't be "Filling up"? Have you put any furnace cement in the upper holes of the pot (do the very upper rows on the sides and the upper 2-3 rows on the back pusher plate and front door. Use a 2,000° furnace cement. Clean pot well and wipe down. Then massage cement into holes) This will give you more airflow under the pellets, where the combustion air is needed.

    (Pics show the upper row on the sides of pot filled. What it looks like from both sides. Also, you can see the gasket material I added to the pot receptacle and back sides of pot to seal the gaps)
    2012-12-23_11-50-51_210.jpg 2013-01-15_18-21-28_650.jpg
  15. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    I will start on this tonight.. Been out of town a bit. The lid is closed but the switch seems to be stuck all the way in. The gaske is new but I am going to double check it tonight. Not sure about the metal plate but I will be shortly
  16. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    OK I have done everything here you suggested, thx and still the auto ignitor isnt working. I tried to start is manually but smoke was coming out of the botoom of the T so i turned the unit off. The chimney was just cleaned today as well.
    Not sure where to go next. I know when the unit is trying to ignite the vacuum to the iginitor is non exixtance at least when I pull the hose off the ignitor i cant feel any vacuum.
  17. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Oh and the switch in the lid have been resolved
  18. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    The Clean out T needs some High temp foil tape around it. Smoke is exiting, because the exhaust is positive pressure and there is a leak there (I bet you have Pellet vent Pro / Simpson) .

    As for the ignitor? Have you checked the resistance? As stated above? It is possible its Burnt out?

    Are you talking about the air pump to the ignitor (vacuum)? It should blow some air out of the tube? Have you cleaned it? And its inlet?

    I would seal the T and Start manually (Hand Sanitizer works well, or a Blowtorch for about a minute). If it runs as it should? Then the ignitor is out to lunch. Call Fahrenheit or your dealer for a replacement.
  19. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    (I bet you have Pellet vent Pro / Simpson) .You are correct

    As for the ignitor? Have you checked the resistance? As stated above? It is possible its Burnt out?
    I have not checked the resistance I will do that shortly

    Are you talking about the air pump to the ignitor (vacuum)? YES
    It should blow some air out of the tube? Have you cleaned it? And its inlet?
    I had a good portion on this machine appart today I am not sure how to clean it or where the inlet is

    I would seal the T and Start manually (Hand Sanitizer works well, or a Blowtorch for about a minute). If it runs as it should? Then the ignitor is out to lunch. Call Fahrenheit or your dealer for a replacement. OK Will will try this and see what happens
    DexterDay likes this.
  20. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    So apparenty I have a vacuum issue as the furnace was running and then after a few minutes when into shut down. So the was no Proof of vacuum.
    So not I am not sure where to go next of what to check. I know the gaslets are all good. as I have just replaced them all today.
    hmm
  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    The Sail switch is the "Vacuum switch" also. So stick something in that intake, to keep it Open and try it?

    Otherwise, it may be the POF snap disc? If If the snap disc doesn't see Temp in the allotted time, it shuts down.

    Whats the board say? Auger timed out?
  22. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    The board is saying Loss of Proof of fire.
    I will try again
  23. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Are the Leads on the Exhaust Manifold Snap disc Tight? There are 2 wires going to it?

    If its not getting POF? Then its not getting Hot enough, quick enough? Or the snap disc isnt connected right, or it isnt operating correctly (they do fail).
  24. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Or is dirty....
  25. Earl Beach

    Earl Beach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    OK I dumped a few cups of pellets in the pot and now its running.
    Had to light it manually. Now the blower is on so at least I will have some heat in the house for the night.
    Thanks for the help. I will be working on the ignitor more in the morning.

Share This Page