How do i properly hook up my wood stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Deere Man

Oct 14, 2009
North West Indiana
I have an older Shenandoah wood stove i bought to supplement my gas furnace. I think it is a model R77E. The pipe to the chimney exits out the back and then it has duct work that fits on top to hook into the duct work of the furnace. I have no experience with this stuff at all. I'm not sure where exactly to tie into the duct work? This stove has a thermostat but no blower. Does the furnace naturally draw the heat up through the vents? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Perhaps you should consider hiring a professional stove installer, since you have no experience at all.

I would tie into the return and the blower from your oil furnace will pull the heat through.

rotaxman said:
I would tie into the return and the blower from your oil furnace will pull the heat through.

That is a rather bad idea, rotaxman, and can be a code violation... The problem is that the original furnace is not designed to deal with hot air coming into it's intake, and can be damaged by it depending on how much heat is involved.

In addition, there can be a problem if the OP's system includes an AC unit - in theory a Freon leak could react with the HX on the wood burner and deliver toxic gases into the ventilation system...
--------------
DM - I would suggest looking at some of the other threads in this area, do a search on "furnace install" to start with and see how others have hooked up their units.