How do you know you are having a chimney fire?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RORY12553

Minister of Fire
Dec 12, 2011
Southern NY
How do you know when you have a chimney fire? New to all this and want to know some signs.

Two main signs are if you hear a roaring sound in your flue and if you see sparks (or fire) coming out of your chimney. I have, fortunately, never experienced one but I am a firefighter and these are things homeowners have reported when we arrive and things that some people on this site have described. The two main avoidance strategies are to burn only seasoned wood and to clean the chimney regularly.

Perhaps remind you of the sound your car's exhaust makes after you shut it off? If so, it's just the metal expanding and contracting.

In another thread someone described what to be concerned about as hearing sleet or hail coming down the pipe. I think that is a good description.

pen

RORY12553 said:
I get a clicking sound every once in a while

Is that the stove heating up?

What stove do you have? Is it a Steel plate stove??

Metal makes strange noises when it heats (expands) and cools (contracts).

I have a plate steel stove and yes, they do talk to you.

One thing is that the smoke coming out (outside) will have a distinct smell to it, more like a chemical than regular wood smoke.
And there may be a lot of it.