How Far to Jump In

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Easyellis8

Aug 9, 2008
So IL
I'm new to wood burning business, but not a novice; I must admit that stoves and the regulations have changed quite a bit since my last time using them. I grew up using a wood stove and I'm wanting to jump back into full steam ahead, but my wife is hesitant; she is cognizant of what they are but no experience. I've been doing research for a while and I know what I want, but I'm still trying to sale (compromise) this to her. My goal was to purchase a stove (Woodstock), saw (Stihl) and the extras right away, but now I'm realizing that this might not be the wisest decision. We will relocate to S. IL next spring from Oh, what I will do is gather enough wood next year and get it stack and seasoned for the following year. By this time we should have come together on what to purchase and place it in the house.

If any of you have similiar experiences I would love to hear from you especially the WAF, she's not against it but she's thinking more about the decor and not wanting the "free standing" stove to become the focal point of our living area. I want the woodstock for its simplicity and ease of use, of course I'm paying for this, but after research this is something that I could show her how to use without having to push her out there too much. This is a big investment without having total buy in yet, I could save money by going with cheaper stove initially and doing the change out later, but that's a hassle.

EasyEd said: