How forgiving are wood stoves?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

faye smith

Dec 20, 2015
Texas
Hi all, I am totally new at this having my first wood stove, a Hearthstone Craftsbury. It is my only heat in a 2000 sq ft home other than space heaters in the bedrooms. I just had it installed yesterday by a chimney sweep and when I asked him about how I should start a fire and if I could use the paper-wrapped firestarter logs from Kroger, he said I could use them and add a couple of cord wood logs, but he did NOT inform me that it was necessary to "season" the stove first. He did warn me about the off-gassing of the paint. Well, long story short, I had purchased my firewood before my stove was installed, so I didn't realize that the size of the logs were too long and would not fit my stove. So, being anxious to start my first fire and warm the place up, all I could find to burn was a solid log from the yard and used it along with a fire starter log from Kroger. It was a huge fire and the off-gassing made me sick to the point of vomiting. I can only hope and pray that I did not damage my new stove with the first burn. How would I know and can the chimney sweep guy tell by looking at it? I'm here asking because I googled the off-gassing and read about the need to "season" the stove with several small fires before a big burn. Help! Can anyone tell me if my stove will forgive me for my ignorance and give me another chance? Thanks for your help.