How good is dead wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

freyah

Jan 8, 2010
UK
Hello from the UK

I'm new to wood burning and have been gathering a stash of timber for the new stove arriving next week.

My father in law has offered us a dead sycamore which I understand is a *good thing*

I have a question though, will it still need seasoning or will it be ok to burn in around 3 - 4 months time?

thanks in advance

Dead standing does not = seasoned. Depending on species - some trees require darn near as long to dry even when dead, as they do when alive. Sycamore is a fairly high water content wood to begin with. Add the variables of "dead for how long", "where at" (sun, wind, forest, etc.) and it will be pretty tough to give you a straight answer. The best bet is a moisture meter. Depending on its moisture content, you can then get a fairly accurate guess at how much longer it needs to be seasoned.

So I guess my answer is "I dunno". Depends.

LOL Well it sounds like its your best wood, so start cutting and keep cutting till you have more wood than you know what to do with! Oh and Welcome!

Aha, thanks, so I can't rest easy yet. I may have to start microwaving some wood after all....(loving some of the crazy and wise info I'm getting on here!)

In the mean time, I'll keep up the log store envy.

thanks

freyah said:
Aha, thanks, so I can't rest easy yet. I may have to start microwaving some wood after all....(loving some of the crazy and wise info I'm getting on here!)

In the mean time, I'll keep up the log store envy.

thanks