How high for a splitting stump?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

muncybob

Minister of Fire
Apr 8, 2008
Near Williamsport, PA
I have an old apple tree that needs to come down. It's near my wood piles so I thought about leaving a stump there to use for splitting. I'm new to the manual splitting game and not sure at what height might be best for a 6' tall guy? I plan to split apprx 24" long rounds. I was thinking maybe about mid thigh high?

If you are talking about having the top of the stump be mid thigh I think you will find that too high - the top of your round to be split will then be 24" above that and for me that is much too high. Keep in mind that you have to lift rounds up to the top of your stump too!

I'm about 6'1 and I have a round I use as my base that is about 18"-20" tall. I find it works out well for most of what I split. I also have no problem splitting things sitting on the ground when they are too big to lift. I'm using a Fiskars so the handle is a bit shorter than many mauls so that's why I like to raise the wood up more than I used to. I wouldn't want to have to pick my rounds up to a level anywhere near mid thigh each time though!

I'm 6', and mid thigh seems a bit high for splitting 24" rounds. It's all what feels comfortable to you, but I think that high you won't be able to get max velocity and power you need. Also, try out the tire trick: put and old tire on top of your splitting stump to hold the pieces you're splitting. Saves a TON of bending over and picking up the pieces. THE best thing I've done for myself while hand splitting.