1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

how large are your splits

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by dave_376, Nov 22, 2012.

1. dave_376

dave_376 Burning Hunk

Loc:
    central Ct
    This is my first year burning in an epa stove, an older Avalon 1196 that came with the house. I started gathering and splitting my wood last year. I split my wood big because that is what I did with my old smoke dragon. My concern is that everytime I see someone loading an EPA stove in a video they are loading small pieces 3"-4" splits. Most of mine are 6"-9" ,big heavy pieces of wood. My stove top has been around 350F most burns sometimes I can get it up to 550F but not easily. Am I doing it wrong, should I resplit my wood smaller?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. HotCoals

HotCoals Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    Having a mixture of sizes is a good thing!
    At night I put the bigger splits on top of the smaller ones..works for me!
    Hiram Maxim likes this.
  3. DAKSY

DAKSY Patriot Guard Staff Member

Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Rules of thumb for wood burning:
    Kindling - the size of your fingers...
    Starter Splits - The size of your forearm...
    Full splits - 1/4 of the log MAX...
    YMMV...
  4. Todd

Todd Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    My splits are 3-6", bigger than that takes a long time to dry, harder to handle and a pain loading into the stove.
  5. jharkin

jharkin Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Holliston, MA USA
    What species of woods do you have? If its heavy stuff like oak, those big splits may not have dried enough in one year. Many of us split small to dry faster, but I leave some big ones for overnight loads.