How long for white/red oak to season?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BucksCounty

Feeling the Heat
Jan 11, 2009
Southeast PA
I am new to burning with a woodstove. I have oak seasoned 3 years for the remainder of this year and it is burning great. My question is will red and white oak that is cut and split now be seasoned enough for next winter? 12-16 inch lengths. Do I need to stack it a specific way?

BucksCounty said:
I am new to burning with a woodstove. I have oak seasoned 3 years for the remainder of this year and it is burning great. My question is will red and white oak that is cut and split now be seasoned enough for next winter? 12-16 inch lengths. Do I need to stack it a specific way?

Stack it loosely leaving some air space between them. I stack mine where it will get full sun & the prevailing wind blows through the stacks. You should be ok by next year.

Oak takes a looonnngggg time to season. Do as Hog has suggested and the oak will be okay to burn, but it wont be really dry. Splitting it smaller will definitely help.

I like to let oak season for 18 months or more... preferably two years plus.

I feel it needs 2 years, or at least 2 summers... if that makes sense.

Honestly,