How Low Can You Go????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendywoodle

Jun 23, 2008
Northeast Ohio
Hi experts out there - I'm a newbie working with my Quadrafire 3100i insert to built the most efficient fire. I've learned already to make the first fire a good long hot one to prime the stove - once that's down to a good layer of red charcoal I'm adding more wood, getting it to flame and turn red on the outside, and damping down - my question is how low??? If I take it down to where I just get flames dancing at the top of the firebox - not even on the wood - is that too low? Eventually of course those flames poop out. So if I'm going to bed, how should the fire look before I leave it? Thanks, mentors! Barbara

This Saturday why don't you load it up at noon and watch it burn all the way to nothing without touching the primary air control once it is set. You'll learn how your flue/stove combination works best. That said I always start the final fire of the night at least an hour before going to bed. I like to make sure all is well before turning in.

With good wood that is pretty much the way I burn. The actual position of the air control will vary a lot depending on the stove and flue. Chett's advice is good. Experiment with daytime fires to learn more about how different combos of wood, timing and air control affect the stove burning and temperature.

Barb,

Sounds like you're on the right path. Every stove has a sweet spot when dampering down. You just have to find it.

Jim