How many peacies of wood for over night fire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Burd

Feeling the Heat
Feb 29, 2008
Bell bell Pa.
As all of you may no I'm pretty new to this. How do you get coals in the morning. I loaded up the stove with oak last night and when I woke up there was very little coal in the back of the stove.How big of a split do you put in for over night burns and how do you load it up to get a lot of coals in the morning

Attachments

• insert 001.jpg
    insert 001.jpg
    22.5 KB · Views: 767
Depending on the size of your firebox, you might want to use rounds. I've been putting 2 rounds and 2 split in my new stove for overnight burns and so far (2 overnight burns under my belt), I've had a good bed of coals in the morning and a nice warm house in the 70's. I'm fortunate that my firebox is wide enough to take 20 inch logs. I cut my own firewood this year and cut most pieces to 18 inches, I did cut some shorter to be able to stack some small pieces NS and fill up the firebox well.

Well we have a QF4300 and I don't know what stove your burning with.

In the winter we'll load it up full with ash and elm in a 2 1/2 sf firebox with small splits at about 9pm...then crash. Wake up about 0530 when there's hot coals enough to start an immediate fire after a 2 min stove maintainance dance. I'm thinking if your using oak you should be golden for a longer burn than the junk we're burning.

Is your start up air shut off? Is you primary air opened half way or less? Is the stove top temp about steady 450* 20 minutes after you loaded up for an overnight burn?