How many people leave their fires unattended?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shane

Minister of Fire
Nov 21, 2005
Casper Wyoming
Do you leave your fire unattended? To what extent? (while sleeping, while at work, only if I run to the grocery store etc.) Pellet or Wood stove?

I frequently leave it unattended, mine is going 24/7 and probably 19 hours of the day we're sleeping, at work, or doing other things. I burn wood.

I've been letting it go longer and longer since I am still new to the woodburning, however, my unit is older and when I get my new unit's I will be going 24x7 and damp it down during the 'away' hours (extended burns). I let mine burn last night (full load) and woke this morning to enough coals to relight todays fire without having to start from scratch...just tossed in a few pieces of kindling and p00f...fire going good and it's been burning since.

I did just do a mid season sweep out and looked at what had accrued prior to starting extended burning for my personal peace of mind.

I leave my stove on 24/7 weather permiting. If it's not to warm like it has been.

I burn mine in the evenings when I'm home, and over night (for as long as it lasts w/a small fire box).
If I'm home over the weekend , the stove is going . I have run an errand or two and left it burning .
But my work days are long and I am more comfortable just starting a fire when I get home from work.
I just keep my thermostat on low so when the fire dies, the furnace kicks on .