How Many Tons In Lehigh Valley, PA?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

valentine92

Mar 31, 2008
Lehigh Valley, PA
For those of you that live in a similar climate I was wondering how many tons of pellets I should be ordering since this is my first year.

1300 square foot home ranch home, built in the early 1960's. New windows and doors. Harman Accentra free standing stove. We reside in the Lehigh Valley in PA. I plan on burning 24/7 and will try to keep my home between 72 - 74 degrees during the winter months. Im not sure how much insulation is in the walls but we did add insulation to the attic a few years ago. We are only heating one floor.

Do you plan on using this as your only heat? If so, I would recommend 4 tons. They keep from year to year and nobody can predict accurately just how severe the winter is going to be. I live 5 mins from the PA border in MD and burnt two tons last year, but only used my stove when the heat pump was insufficient.

My first home used a small quadrafire stove. It was only about 850 sq feet, and I used it for my only heat since we had electric heat. I had it hooked up to a thermostat and we went through about 1.5 tons per year.

All depends on how you burn, how warm you want it, and if you use a thermostat.

I'd say a minimum of 2 tons to start.

Order three.

Can you get the total energy used to heat your home last year? It's easy to convert whatever heat source you used into pellets to see how it will take, but I wouldn't go into this heating season with less than 3 tons.