How much extra does it cost to only burn evenings instead of 24/7 - PENNSYLVANIA (natural gas backup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tradergordo

Minister of Fire
May 31, 2006
Phoenixville, PA
gordosoft.com
I thought some might find this interesting. I've been burning for 5 years now, the first 4 years I was super "hard core", burning 24/7 throughout the heating season, my goal was to use as little natural gas as possible. I burned during the day even when no one was home, so the house would be warm when we got home from work.

This year, I decided to try just burning evenings only during the week, 24/7 on the weekend to see what difference it would make as far as both impact on wood supply and cost/usage amount of natural gas. I set the programmable thermostat to drop to 58 degrees at 7AM, and climb to 64 degrees about 45 minutes before we get home from work. I always kill the nat gas when I get home regardless of the temperature. It is usually still a bit chilly when we get home from work, but an extra sweatshirt or light jacket does the job and isn't a big deal, one of us gets the fire started, and we eat dinner on the couch in front of the stove - that space heats up quickly. The whole house usually gets up to 70+ degrees in about an hour.