How much is too much?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Studdlygoof

Jan 26, 2014
Elkton MD
I met with a gentleman today that is looking to take down about 70 pines that are surrounding his house. He is going to lay them down, limb them and buck them in 4' lengths for me. I'm still new to the hoarding game so how much do you take when you come across a large score. I know pine rots fairly quickly compared to other woods so I don't want to end up with a bunch of rotted wood down the road. Should I just take enough that I could burn in one year? I don't want to turn this into a to burn or not to burn pine thread but more of a to take or to take more kind of thread. Thanks

If you store it properly it wont rot any faster than any other wood. Dry and off the ground.

Reactions: 1kzwoman
Yep. The longer I leave pine split and stacked the better it gets. Approaching the burn times of some hardwoods. I burned some three year split/stacked/top covered pine a couple of years ago and decided that I could heat with that stuff forever.

Only issue with it was there is some kind of borer bug around here that loves to drill holes in it. Can go out at night and hear them drilling.

I'd take whatever amount will get you 3 years ahead, unless you have a shed in which case I'd take more. Once you get 3 years up, you can be a bit more selective on the wood you take.