How much wood do you burn in a day?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Slow1

Minister of Fire
Nov 26, 2008
Eastern MA
OK, I know this is going to vary quite a bit depending on a LOT of factors, perhaps we can lay them out when folks report out. I'm new to wood burning so I'm trying to figure out if my burn rate is anywhere near "normal". So - here is what I'm looking at for the last few days - note that I'm not yet up to "loading it chock full at night and letting it rip" so I would guess I'm burning somewhere near 18hrs a day.

Stove: VC Encore NC
Day1 high/Low 43/27 splits burned: 25
Day2 high/low 54/34 splits burned: 27

Note that I actually burned a few bio-bricks in there that I count as a single split each but I'm trying to keep this somewhat simplified... if folks are interested in that level of detail I can give it too...

Thanks in advance for any info!

Splits vary in size so about an armload or two.

LLigetfa said:
Splits vary in size so about an armload or two.

Yeah... too many variables. Armloads vary too eh? Weigh it and then folks will say "water content affects weight"... measure it by volume and objection will be "how tight is it stacked" and "how long are they"... I'm just trying to find some sort of objective baseline here... Is it totally hopeless?

I have a small Regency Fireplace insert and I load approx. 4 times daily with 4 splits.
So lets see, that would give us about 16 splits per day. This is with outside temps averaging about High 45/25 low.
As soon as I have a roaring fire going I damp it 1/2 way and let it go to coals from there.