How much wood do you burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EJL923

Minister of Fire
Oct 29, 2009
Western Mass
I am not new to wood burning, but this is my first year with my own house and new stove. I tended the stove when I was younger for my parents, but never paid attention to how much would they used. I am trying to get a handle on how much wood people usually burn per day. This way, I have a ball park estimate if i am burning through wood like crazy or being to timid and not burning enough. I know, it depends on wood, split size, stove size, damper setting, etc...Again, a rough estimate here...

Thanks

EJL923 said:
I am not new to wood burning, but this is my first year with my own house and new stove. I tended the stove when I was younger for my parents, but never paid attention to how much would they used. I am trying to get a handle on how much wood people usually burn per day. This way, I have a ball park estimate if i am burning through wood like crazy or being to timid and not burning enough. I know, it depends on wood, split size, stove size, damper setting, etc...Again, a rough estimate here...

Thanks

We are heating about 3400 square feet that includes the basement ( the liberty is installed in the basement) we have 21 face cord stacked and plan on burning 15 face cord. I have only been burning from 5:30 pm on. Have been burning mostly cherry at this point with some hard maple for overnight burns.

Zap