How much wood is enough for us????????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Turfguy

Dec 13, 2010
Niskayuna, NY
I'm a newbie to all of this. My wife and I used our first-time home owner tax credit to purchase a wood stove. They finished installing it two weeks ago. Before they did the install I had cut/split appox. 1 cord of American Elm (sucker must of been dead for a couple of yrs.) Also purchase a cord of oak log lengths(cut down end of last winter) which is resting comfortably cut and split up in the new wood stand I built a couple of weeks ago.
I am just trying to figure out approximately how much wood I might need for this year and how much to plan on using in future years? We live near Albany, NY. I find that I am burning from 4pm till bedtime daily and all day on weekends. Thanks for all your help everyone.

Random thoughts . . .

It's hard to set a figure . . . a lot depends on your home and its insulation, climate, condition of your wood, etc. I figure that I roughly go through 4-6 cords of wood here in Maine with a 1,800 square, moderately insulated two-story open Cape burning 24/7 . . . someone living down the road from me though with a drafty farmhouse could burn quite a bit more and someone with a newer, air-tight home may burn less even if they have the same square footage.