How soon to clean chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Brockport Bill

Dec 13, 2007
Brockport, New York
I have a new quadrafire 5700 step top. I am new to the wood burners. I was reading the instructions and they said I should check the chimney in the first week of running, because it states in two weeks you could generate enough creosote to have a severe chimney fire. I figured I could clean the chimney every two weeks or so myself and have it professionally swept and inspected once a year. Is this over reactive? I am trying to use the stove as primary heat and have my propane boiler be secondary as the stove cools off. I am still working on trying to get the heat out of the basement and up through the house, and get the stove to burn longer than 5-6 hours. I have found that in the middle of the night when I get up to reload and I am down to ash and coals the flue temp reads about 150, the same is for when I return home from work does this create creosote quicker because of low temp burns? In the morning I typically fire the stove to 500-600. Is this to low or to high? Or with these new EPA rated stoves am I over worring about something that is not a big deal?

Thanks for your time and input
Bill