How to get the Best Burn out of your wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gdisarcina

Sep 24, 2008
NW of Boston
I am relatively new to the wood stove world. I am okay with getting the fire going, just need to know the best process on loading the wood after I have it going. I have heard you should rake the coals to the front of the stove, and pack the back of the stove with multiple logs, real tight. Let the logs burn to coal and repeat the process, and take ashes out as they build up over 2 inches. I have done this tonight, and had success, but am not sure if I am getting the most heat out of my stove. I have a Clydesdale Hearthstone insert with a blower. Please advise if I am on the right track. Thanks for any help.

I also have a question on the same lines and don't mean to hijack this thread.

If raking the coals toward the front, then loading the wood from to coals to the back would mean most of the wood is not in contact with the coals. When charing the wood before turning down the air, does this mean only the front of the pile is burning or the whole load?

Rake coals to front.
Largest split(s) to the back of the firebox
Progress forward with splits stacking smaller splits as needed to fill fire box in between the larger ones.
Full open air (I do not time this, I use a thermo for my reference)
Once up to full operating temp, and the COMPLETE load is charring, I will tune the primary air down to ~5-10%
Grab favorite adult beverage and enjoy.

Simply one way of many. Cheers.

Clyde,