How to keep stove glass clean

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

timbur

Nov 10, 2011
NC OH
Hello All ,

I'm new here but I've been listening in for a while . I've been burning wood for 6+ yrs in a WC90 boiler w/in floor radiant heat . Realizing a need for less heat in the fall and spring I installed a 254 Hitzer in the living room , WOW it take's a lot less wood , the problem I have is that the door glass creosoted over within 12 hrs and I'm having a hard time getting it clean .
I have used Rutlands glass cleaner with no success .

I welcome any suggestions .

It's great to hear what all of have to say on any topic , keep it up !!

Tim

Hi -

I am not familiar with that particular stove. However, on pretty much any newer stove (10 years or less?) a good fire with dry wood will keep glass pretty clean. I just wipe mine with a wee bit of damp napkin once every few days when the stove is cool and that's it. An easy 1 minute job. You might be able to run a little more air to keep the temprature up and hav ecleaner glass.

Good luck,
Mike

Welcome to the forum.

Lots of threads on this topic.

Cliff note version.

You can buy many commercial products. Some folks use household cleaners. Some people use a razor blade. Most folks try to burn seasoned wood and burn at the proper temps. Cheap folks use a damp cloth or newspaper . . . for stubborn spots dip the newspaper in to the fine fly ash and scour. Lazy people just leave it and the next time they burn hot it will cook off.