How to season wood correctly.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MourningWood

Nov 9, 2015
Perkasie ,Pennsylvania
Hello everyone,

This is my first year burning a wood stove... well wood burning insert. I thought that I planned ahead and bought wood in august. Bought from two different sources one of which was highly recommend to my by a family friend. I also, had just about 1/2 cord of wood left over from last year from burning in an open fireplace before making up my mind to get an insert. It has been really quite mild around me this year so I am just getting to the wood that I bought this year. I found the insert was burning differently and discovered that my wood was not seasoned well at all. 30-35% The one smart think I did was buy enough wood so that I would have enough for next year. I was reading you want to keep at least one year ahead and season it yourself that way you know that it is right. So this year I am scrambling to find dry wood in my stack which I think I can make it through. I am currently trying to plan for this coming spring and summer.

I was thinking in the beginning of spring I would take my 3 cords of wood that I will have left from this year out of 3 rows and line them up along my fence line in one row. Most of my property doesn't get sun all day but where I plan on stacking it should get sun all morning to mid afternoon.