1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

How well does your stove ignite?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Hammerjoe, Nov 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hammerjoe

    Hammerjoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Kanata
    Hi,

    My accentra failed me once again this morning.
    I just installed a t/stat to allow the stove to turn on at 8am which it did, but the stove failed the ignition and I got up in a cold house... Not nice.

    I find the Accentra to be very unreliable as far auto ignition is concerned.
    It fails alot.
    Just for info I use shaw pellets (canada) and my settings are feed rate 5, room temp set @ 71F.

    How is your stove doing?

    Inst there some kind of a solution to make the stove ignite properly other than cleaning the burn pot everyday (not practical and messy)?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. stovemanken

    stovemanken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    It is not a question of how often you clean your burn pot but how well you clean your burn pot. The key is making sure the last row (the ones closest to the auger or farthest from you) have no carbon buildup on top of them. Occasionally these holes will actually become plugged with carbon will have to be cleaned with a small drill bit.

    As has been posted elsewhere, making sure no ash builds up around the igniter will also improve airflow and improve igniter reliability.

    The best hint I ever got was to invest about 15 bucks in the Sears tool department and buy a mechanic's prybar. Get the 17 inch one. (p/n 9-43276) It is the absolute best tool for cleaning a Harman burn pot.

    SMK
  3. Hammerjoe

    Hammerjoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Kanata
    Thanks fro the tip about the holes.
    I kinda forgot about them...

    I used the metal scrapper that comes with the stove, it does a pretty decent job on my opinion and if the burn pot is still warm then the carbon i seasy to remove.

    I will make sure the holes are unclogged tonight.
    Hopefully that will help.
  4. FireJumper

    FireJumper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    SMK made a very good point, make sure you remove the clean out plate located in front of the burn pot to make sure you don't have a lot of ash build up "inside" the burn pot around the ignitor.
  5. Tom D

    Tom D New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Watertown , Wisconsin
    i have harman xxv never had problem scrape pot every other day,thanks for the information on the tool from sears.
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,892
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    mine fires in about 6 minutes every time, in 3 seasons its failed to fire 3 times, all with wife who forgot to clear the pot. if the unit uses a sleeve and pulled air method, make certain that ash has not built up in the sleeve, this restricts the flow of air through to the pot from the igniter and consequently the pellets do not receive enough heat to start.
  7. Xena

    Xena Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,509
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    auto ignite has worked every time on ours.
    We're on the third season with this stove.
    Oh, and the tool that came with this
    stove works awesome for cleaning the burnpot. :)
  8. MrWinkey

    MrWinkey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Loc:
    Eastern Washington
    I had the same problem and it was ash that had fallen down into the holes of the burnpot. It was blocking the flow of air to the coil.

    http://www.harmanstoves.com/maintenance/accentracleaninginstructions.pdf

    You may need pliers to open the wing nuts at the front of the burn pot. It's easier to get at w/ the ash pan removed. Do not use the pliers to re-tighten.

    Good luck!
  9. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    I have had problems with ignition due to sawdust in the vacuum hose. The blower would start but it would not aug. This is on a Quad though, not familiar with the Harman's (yet).
  10. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    Good point JTP. Hammerjoe did you have a overfull burnpot with pellets?
    On Harmans with an open vac switch the neutral is cut on the auger motor........AND the Ignitor...........
  11. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    I also forgot to mention that it would work sometimes, especially if the homeowner hit the reset button many times. Since I told them they should never need to use the reset unless it runs out of pellets they called me right back. I took the hose off (forgot to on the first trip) and blew it out. A whole cloud of stuff came flying out. Have not heard from them in two weeks now.... so it must be working.
  12. Hammerjoe

    Hammerjoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Kanata
    I am not sure of what you are talking about Gva!
    I always let the stove shut down by itself and it usually means that all there will be left is just ash and carbon deposits. The pellets in the burn pot burn completely.
    When I got home tonight, I did a cleanup of the burnpot (it was of course full of pellets because of a failed ignition earlier).
    Tried again to ignite the fire with no luck. I opened the door after a few minutes during the ignition procedure and the burnpot was cold.
    So I pulled the plug and plugged the stove back in, with the hopes that it would reset the computer, and this time I could feel the burnpot getting warmer. It failed to ignite but when the light started blinking there was some smoke coming out of the pellets and as soon I restarted the ignition procedure the pellets caught fire imediately.
    I dont know what to make of all of this, but I am not impressed with the auto ignition of thise stove. It's unreliable.

    Btw whats an open vac?
  13. LI-Mini-Owner

    LI-Mini-Owner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    I have an Enviro Mini that almost never lites on itsown. The first season it was pretty reliable, but since then I've used at least 4 different brands of pellets and it alomost never lites. My typical routine now is to throw a handfull of pellets in the burn pot and hit it for a few seconds with a tourch.

    The burn pot gets hot during the ignitian cycle, just not enough to get a fire going most times.

    Any ideas?
  14. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    I would repost in a new thread and then Hearthtools would see this. Just put enviro mini in the title.
  15. Shane

    Shane Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,830
    Loc:
    Casper Wyoming
    Make sure the ignitor hasn't shifted in the tube and is touching hte side of the tube causing a heat sink. You may need a new bracket that puts the ignitor slightly closer to the burn pot. I had one that we sold last year that gave us a bunch of trouble. The new bracket solved the problem. THere are also some auger trim settings you can mess with to make it light better.
  16. barbarabate

    barbarabate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Maine
    I have a Harmon XXV which is going into it's 3rd Maine Winter. A great stove but having difficulty lighting automatically. It ran out of pellets last night. My husband cleaned out the burn pot and heat plate but it wouldn't light again. I cleaned out the ash, vacummed, etc this am. Ran on test mode. Everything seems to be working but the heat plate stays cold. Plate is nice and clean. Any ideas?
  17. Hammerjoe

    Hammerjoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Kanata
    I would say that the ignitor is done... Time to get a new one. :(

    If the pot stays cold hats because the ignitor didnt work.
    Is still not working?

    The guy came in last week and put a new ignitor on my Accentra and now it lights up in less than 5 minutes. WOW, what a difference, the previous one even when it was replaced took longer to ignite so that ignitor was definetly defective from the get go.

    Just in case I now have the stove connected to an apc battery 520W to basically filter the electricity so theres no spikes or noise going to the stove.

    Lets see how long this ignitor will work, but I have to say that with the stove igniting so quick not only it feels different but the stove impresses me more. Basically now it delivers heat on demand, which is awesome.
  18. smirnov3

    smirnov3 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    Except for having carbon buildup because of cleaning, my Accentra has failed to light maybe twice. both times were software errors corrected by unplugging, waiting 2 minutes & replugging in the stove.
  19. barbarabate

    barbarabate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Maine
    Thanks. I actually have someone coming in (in two weeks) who thinks it is the ignitor. Looks like it's time to utilize the gel to get it going.
  20. Mr Whitfield

    Mr Whitfield Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Loc:
    Northern Cailfornia
    My Whitfield Advantage II-T ignites very time, I do not use a thermostat to start the stove. Have you tried a Super igniter??
  21. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    What shane said about the MINI
    The original Tube the ignitor goes in was bad and would move every time you put the burn pot holder in and out of the stove
    You can fix it by welding it or calling your dealer and getting a new tube
    Part #50-1408
    I will post photos when I get time
  22. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    Hey you already fixed it in the other thread.... :)


    And Barb make sure the toggle switch on the board is set to auto other than that I agree with the rest........ :coolsmile:
  23. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    yes I I just posted a photo
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/11236/#131409
  24. wilbilt

    wilbilt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Loc:
    Nor Cal
    Mine is manual ignite.

    So far, it works fine....;)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page