Hybrid populars for a renewable fuel

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mwk1000

Nov 12, 2008
Southern MI
I though of the forum when I got this link. Seems like a reasonable way for many to get some or all of their wood. I studied Popular/Aspen in college an learned they grow with a shared root system in "clones" so this seems plausible to me.

Wondering if anyone has tried it or knows more about it ???

This site shows a way to get 5 cords/year by rotating the harvesting of 4-6 inch diameter popular ( no - splitting). These are ready in 4 years due to the rapid growth rate. So with a few acres a typical home could have enough wood for a season.

Factoring in the lower BTU quality it still seems like one of the higher production lowest work -- more practical ways ( A chainsaw and a wagon ) to feed the home heat. The site has a pretty detailed breakdown of how to go about it.

Cheers, Interested in any comments

http://www.frysvillefarms.com/independence.htm

It would take a lot of trees that size to make 4 cord. There is a lot less btus / cord than hardwood.
I'd probably need about 15 cord a year. Thats a lot of work but may be ok for people looking to grow some fast firewood if they have the land.

It would take a lot of trees that size to make 4 cord. There is a lot less btus / cord than hardwood.
I'd probably need about 15 cord a year. Thats a lot of work but may be ok for people looking to grow some fast firewood if they have the land.