Hydronic heating via Radiator's - Using a Wood heater with a wetback/water jacket

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

St Marys

Jul 4, 2023
Australia
G'day,

I'm new here & have had a bit of a look around, so please excuse me if this post should be in another section.
I live in Australia & while I have been heating my house with wood successfully for 15 years, we are about to extend our house by about 700Sq Ft & due to the lay out it seems we need to install a secondary heat source. The simple solution would be a second wood heater, however I have been exploring Hydronic heating as an option.
The house is on stumps with a timber floor, it was built in the 1860's which is quite early out here. I have access to a number of cast iron radiators which it would seem area good option to heat the rooms. Our current fire place does not have a water jacket, however I am prepared to purchase one.

I'm sure that this has been covered before, I just haven't been able to find it, probably as i am not using the right terms.

The main questions at this point I have are of sizing of the heater it's self/fire box, the size the water jacket needs to be, the size of panel that a room needs & the flow rate of water through the system. At this stage I am not looking to use it for hot water in the house, just as a means of moving heat around the house. We currently have solar hot water with a propane booster. I like the idea of connecting the house hot water to the system but don't want to complicate things so soon.