I am at a cross roads...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tdibiasio

Oct 30, 2008
Rhode Island
Hello all - I have not posted much here in the past few years, but I am a very active reader of many of the forums here on the hearth. I find myself at a cross road that I hope to get some advise on - I have been burning wood as my primary heat source for the past 10 years. I have a 2000sf Cape that essentially I only use the first floor of as it is only me, my wife, and a dog and the MB is located on the first floor. I have a 3 flue chimney in the center of the house and for the past 10 years have heated exclusively with a Lopi Freedom insert. I have invested heavily in wood process and have saws\splitter\ and woodshed that will hold a full 14 cord of wood. I process wood 2 years in advance so it burns clean and safe. For the past few years I have found it more and more difficult to find log length wood for sale in Rhode Island. Right now I am sitting on 11 $100 bills to buy another load and for the life of me can not find someone who wants to deliver me logs. I decided at the end of this heating season that the Lopi has lived its life and needs to be replaced - so I spent hours and hours researching and was convinced my next stove will be the Blaze King Princess. But now I have almost convinced myself to take another approach and convert to pellets and buy a Harman 52i. I like the idea of consistent heat output without the ups and downs associated with a typical wood fire, and not to mention it is a lot less work and mess around the hearth. I currently have about 13 cords