I can't find a cheap Moisture Meter.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

okotoks guy

May 22, 2010
Alberta
Hi all,I'm trying to find a cheap moisture meter and cannot locate anything locally.
Could you guys list some brand names I could try searching.I've been able to find
$350.00 and up but have no interest in spending that kind of jack.

I just picked up 10 cord of buckskin larch for $125/cord and I think this stuff is
Primo but want to verify.Also I have some apple,birch,ash, spruce all cut/split
this spring that I think is ready to go but I'm not sure.This is my first year scrounging,
bucking,splitting and hopefully burning.I keep the splits in an open field and the
climate here is very dry.

Thanks in advance.

Just bought one this weekend. I tried ordering one from Harbor Freight. Computer said in store only item. I called the nearest store and the lady that answered said this item is being discontinued. She could not tell me if a new item replaces the old. I ended up buying this one at the link below. Just keep checking the net they can be found a pretty decent prices.

http://www.amazon.com/HQRP-JT-4G-Fi...0UFI2D2/ref=sr?ie=UTF8&qid=1288069229&sr=8-19

lowes and home depot have cheap ones. $30-50 if i remember correctly for mine that i used to tell if the logs on the cabin were dry enough to treat.

Harbor Freights is going to be discontinued, hey? Looks like I got mine just in time, then.

Anyone get a reading of OL on the Harbor Freight one? What does that mean?

heating8 said: