I have 3 cords cut and stacked of oak...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

burntime

Aug 18, 2006
C'mon hunting season!
I need to go stack almost a cord of ash and misc hardwood. I really need to get my butt moving to be ready for this winter. The spring storms will bring me more for next winter... How many thought ahead and already are set for next year?

I am done for next winter, working on 2011 now, this is my first time thinking 2 years out. I had to scrounge standing dead to get through this winter, never again ! After reading and learning on here I have next years cut, split, stacked and 2-3 cords cut, split not stacked for 2011 already. I figure 2 more cords of scrounging with the spring blow downs and I am good.

Real cords or city boy face cords? I thought I had next year's wood all laid up last year but then I got a jump on it and burned some this year so some of the rounds I bucked up waiting to be split will invariably be burned in about a year. I still have a lot of snow here that I'm waiting on to melt so I can get started on splitting. I usually just loose pile it and leave it out all Summer before stacking it in the shed in Fall but this year I will be stacking it outdoors right away. The logs in the pic are all bucked with small rounds loose piled and large rounds stacked so they are starting to dry a bit already.

100_0321.jpg