I just bought a cord of wood, but it's damp and hisses when I burn it. What can I do?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NewtownPA

Feb 15, 2007
Newtown, PA
Hi, I have another question. I am relatively new to the whole wood stove thing, but I just recently bought a cord of wood. When I burn it I hear hissing sounds and see bubbles of moisture at the ends of the wood. This wood was sold to me as "seasoned hardwood".

Is there anything I can do about all that wood that's so damp internally?

Do most of you order your wood in the spring and keep it covered all summer and fall in order to keep it dry for the following winter?

There's not a whole lot you can do at this point, unfortunately. "Seasoned" is basically a meaningless marketing term in the firewood business.

The best way to dry wood is to cut it and stack it for at least a year. Longer can be better, depending on the conditions.

Some of the chunks might be drier than others. You can usually tell by their weight. It's noticable when you lift a dry piece and a wet one of roughly the same size. Some species, such as white ash, burn green better than others.

If you don't have a catalytic combustor in your stove, then you can burn green wood and get some heat out of it, but you have to watch your chimney very carefully. Green wood produces excessive creosote under most conditions, although if you can get your stove running hot, you should have less.