1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

I Just Noticed In My Englander Manual Says On a Cold Start It Should Be Set at 5 Until Blower Comes

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by sydney1963, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sydney1963

    sydney1963 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Loc:
    Windham Maine
    I just happened to notice this today. I've been cold starting it on 1 feed rate and 2 blower. Everything seems to be working ok. I am just wondering why, will that make more creosote starting it on lower settings?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Xena

    Xena Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    I seriously doubt it. Wood pellets have far less moisture
    than cord wood. Moisture in the wood is what creates
    creosote when it burns - I'm sure you know that.
    The majority of the moisture is removed from pellets
    when they're manufactured.

    Anyway, creosote is black, sticky, and flammable afaik. Never had
    a drop of it form in my stove or pipe over 3 years
    and 10+ tons later. Powdery ash is all I've ever cleaned out.
  3. natnyer

    natnyer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Loc:
    southeast ny
    I have the same stove. It doesn't seem to matter either way. I usually run my stove on 5 till the house warms up then cut it down.Creosote is a problem developed with wood stoves due to the varying degrees of moisture in cut wood not seasoned or dried we burn pellets which are dried and compressed wood any creosote that forms is minimal. Enjoy the stove . I love mine.
  4. Garry P

    Garry P New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Soutwest Ohio
    I read the same thing, they only explantation I could come up with was....Putting it on 5 would cause it to heat up faster and kick the blower on sooner, thus getting to the desired result more quickly.

    From what I understand about wood stoves, they get them hot quick to encourage the draft and that isn't a problem for us because of the exhaust blower.

    But don't take any of that as reality, that was just my guess while reading the manual.
  5. sydney1963

    sydney1963 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Loc:
    Windham Maine
    Thanks all.
  6. Panhandler

    Panhandler Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    607
    Loc:
    WV Northern Panhandle
    You know, now I remember reading that when I first got my stove. Been a long time since I've done it. I'll have to try it and check the time till the blower comes on when heat range is at 5 versus 1 or 2. It usually only gets that cold once a week tho.
  7. pelletizer

    pelletizer Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    663
    Loc:
    Pellet County N.H.
    I thought I read the start settings defaulted to factory 5/5 no matter what settings you use till the blower kicked in.
  8. imacman

    imacman Guest

    That's similar to how my Astoria starts....it doesn't matter what heat setting I select, it doesn't use that until the blower comes on.....I kinda thought all pellet stoves worked like that, but maybe not ?
  9. sydney1963

    sydney1963 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Loc:
    Windham Maine
    When you push the on button you can adjust to whatever setting you want. Im not going to worry about it unless someone else has a good reason to set it to 5/5.
  10. cdodge04

    cdodge04 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Belfast, Maine

    Hmm thats what I thought as well.
  11. Garry P

    Garry P New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Soutwest Ohio
    I have a 2003 Englander and it starts at whatever setting it was left on when it was turned off. But I bought it used so maybe it is broken, but I don't think so. I would think if it defaulted to that they wouldn't make a point of telling you to have it set at 5/5 in the manual.
  12. packerfan

    packerfan Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Loc:
    frozen tundra
    On my 25 - pdv I am pretty sure that 5 is the default feed rate at start up. It automatically adjusts itself back down to whatever you have the stove set at after the blower kicks in.
  13. natnyer

    natnyer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Loc:
    southeast ny
    Well anyone who watches this stove should realize from common sense that when it starts it fires up pretty good lol. Then after the blower starts it reverts to the settings you set it at I just leave it at 5 untill my house warms up. I love this stove.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page