I need help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ziprich

Sep 19, 2011
Western Md (Hagerstown)
Hello everybody. I am very new to the wood stove game, as a matter a fact i haven't started yet. I'm having a Harman TL300 installed next Monday, and i have 5 cords of wood out side of my house. i have always wanted to burn wood and i am so excited to now have my own house to do it in.

The big problem I have right now is that I believe i have been mislead by my friends, family, and wood salesman. They all told me that the wood i bought and gathered this summer would be fine to burn this winter. Last night when i first got on Hearth.com i found out that they were very wrong. Now i don't know what to do, i don't want to wait till next year to burn the stove, but i also don't want to have trouble with my stove.

Please let my know if there is anything that i can do to fix my problem. Also any feedback on the Harman TL300 would also be great. Thank you very much!

If you want to get a better idea of where your wood supply stands, pick up a basic 2-pin moisture meter from Lowe's, Amazon, or Harbor Freight. They're about 20 bucks or so. Then, take a few pieces of wood, resplit them, then take a moisture reading from the inside of the fresh split. This will help to eliminate any "guess work" on how well the wood is seasoned.