i need to buy a chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bjkjoseph

Mar 31, 2008
long island
hello just wanted to know what size chainsaw i need for logs 36'' diameter some are a little bigger i am getting a free delivery from a tree service i have cut logs that big with my 18'' echo but i only had a few cuts to do i dont want to kill my self or destroy my saw i started off with an electric remington wich i destroyed but it did pretty good before it burst into flames then i graduated to the echo but iknow it wont handle the big stuff my stoves are the hampton 3100 wich is great but this year i put a vermont castings aspen in my tv room complete nightmare factory installed latch wrong so the gasket was crushed thy jammed it closed changed that rear fire brick missing i went to mason supply got anew one if you look at the seem on front of stove you can see the flames in side of the stove and when the wind blows the room fills with smoke also the gasket around the glass leeks the guy that built this stove must have been pissed off at something has any body else had a problem with vermont casting thank you

Well, lots of questions there. You can search this site for threads on Vermont Castings to see discussion of some of your issues.